On a campaign or line item, you can set a Revenue value, which can be used to report on the revenue you have made from running a given campaign. You can in turn calculate profit margin by subtracting Spend from Revenue.
Revenue is calculated according to one of four calculations:
- CPM - Cost Per Mille
- CPC - Cost Per Click.
- CPCV - Cost Per Complete View
- CPA/CPI - Cost Per Acquisition/Installation
Revenue is calculated on a per-impression basis:
Revenue = Revenue Amount * impressions/1000
In log files, when revenue type is CPM, the revenue will be Revenue Amount / 1000 (because each line is a single impression).
Revenue is calculated on a per-click basis:
Revenue = Revenue Amount * clicks
In log files, when revenue type is CPC, the revenue will be Revenue Amount when clicks=1, and 0 otherwise.
Note that this does not take companion ad clicks into consideration.
Revenue is calculated on a per-completed-video-view basis:
Revenue = Revenue Amount * Video Completes
In log files, when revenue type is CPCV, revenue will be Revenue Amount when video_completes=1, and 0 otherwise.
The calculation for these types is the same. Revenue is calculated on a per-conversion basis, where the conversion event is understood to be a purchase or lead generation activity for CPA or a mobile app installation for CPI:
Revenue = Revenue Amount * conversions
In log files, when revenue type is CPI or CPA, revenue will be Revenue Amount * conversions when conversions > 0, and 0 otherwise. Multiple conversions can be attributed to a single impression, so there is the possibility here of a single impression having a revenue value of more than one conversion. Because of these caveats, we do not recommend using Win Log files for attribution and revenue calculation and instead recommend subscribing to Conversion Log files.
Revenue can be set at either the campaign level or the line item level. If a revenue is set at the line item level, this takes precedence over any revenue setting at the campaign level. Campaign-level revenue will be applied for any line items without their own revenue setting.
Campaign: CPM $1.00; no line item settings
Revenue = $1.00 * (Impressions / 1000)
Campaign: CPM $1.00; Line Item: CPM $2.00
Revenue = $2.00 * (Impressions / 1000)
Campaign: CPM $1.00; Line Item: CPA $10.00, Conversions: 1
Revenue = $10.00 * 1 = $10
Note: Impressions for the line item that do not drive a conversion will have revenue = 0 and will not have revenue calculated according to the campaign’s revenue type. If a revenue is set at the line item, the line item’s revenue calculation always is used instead of the campaign’s revenue setting.
Campaign: CPM $1.00; Line Items: one with CPM $2.00 (A), one without any setting (B)
Revenue = $2.00 * (ImpressionsA / 1000) + $1.00 * (ImpressionsB / 1000)